3 Day Smoothie Detox: Day 1

So after a weekend of consuming nothing but fast food, I am feeling pretty disgusting and hypocritical. I am also a week away from my ski trip to Canada, where I am going to need a lot of energy and will also be supporting some bikini action for hot tubs. I have always wanted to try a detox just to see what my body felt like after the process. I truly know nothing about the science behind detox but I know that they have been extremely popular lately so I figured this was perfect timing for an attempt. I am basing my detox after this one which I found on Pinterest: http://thegreenforks.com/smoothie-cleanse/

So to start off the day I had smoothie 2. This consisted of

  • 1 cup of water
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 lemon juiced
  • 1 tablespoon of cocunut oil
  • 1 apple
  • 1/2 cup of spinach

The original recipe called for beets instead of spinach and celery instead of cucumbers but I had neither around so I improvised. I drank this at 8:30 AM, it is now 2 PM I haven’t eaten anything else, and I went to class and spent an hour and a half at the gym. So far so good.

image

Smoothie 2

The second smoothie I have made to day is my rendition of smoothie 3:

  • 1/2 cup mango
  • 1 cup of spinach
  • 1/2 pear
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon of chia seeds

Again like the last smoothie, I substituted 1 cup of papaya for 1/2 a cup of mango and 1/2 a cup of cucumber. I also used an entire cup of spinach instead of 1/2 a cup because I had no kale around. Finally, I had a pear about to go bad so I used a half of that instead of a half of an apple. I am drinking it right now and it is definitely the best green smoothie I have had so far. Although I have never done a detox before, I have been drinking green smoothies for a while. This one is going in the recipe book. Hopefully the rest of the day goes as well as it has been going so far.

5:00pm update: Starting to really feel tired, cold, and hungry. While sitting in my sorority suite, one of my sisters is toasting fresh bakery everything bread and real food is sounding tempting. Because I will not be back at my apartment till around 10 tonight, I did bring a banana and I ate this hoping it will keep me alert till I can get my last smoothie of the day.

My final smoothie of the day was a rendition of smoothie 1 from the detox plan I mentioned above:
image

  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1/2 pear
  • 1 apple
  • 1 tablespoon of flax seed
  • 1 tablespoon of almond butter (I used Almond Naturally More with flax)
  • 3/4 cup of water

Surprisingly I feel extremely full after drinking this. During my final class at around 8pm I started to get pretty hungry and my stomach was growling, so I thought I was going to need a lot more to satisfy me. Some differences I have noticed throughout the day were that I had to pee so much more often. This probably had to do with all of the water that is naturally in all the fruits and vegetables I was consuming. I also technically cheated when eating the banana but on her blog post she does mention that if you want a snack, go for raw fruits or vegetables.

If you were wondering about the exact nutrition of this detox day, I have screenshotted my food diary of the day which I entered using the app MyFitnessPal. Due to working out, it does not seem like I have met my calorie goals. I am also noticing that the detox drinks contain a lot of sugar, which is expected with the amount of fruit being consumed. It is good to mention the difference in fruit sugar vs. regular sugar though. Looking at this spread worries me somewhat but I am determined to make it through these three days so that I can properly review the detox diet plan and form some opinions/research more into it.

Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 9.43.27 PM Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 9.43.40 PM

I am hoping the next 2 days go as well as this one! I will be posting another blog post for each day so stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

